Holders of the Victoria Cross

Who served in during the Sudan campaigns:

Egyptian Army

Colonel H A Carter, VC
1874-1916 EA circa 1911
Somaliland 1904

Lt Col C H M Doughty-Wylie, VC, CB, CMG
1867-1915 EA 1898-1900
Gallipoli 1915

Lt Col The Earl of Dunmore, VC DSO MVO
Att EA 1896 VC as Viscount Fincastle
Tirah Campaign 1897

Brigadier Gen The Earl of Gowrie, VC, GCMG, CB, DSO
1872–1955 EA 1899-1903 as Bimbashi the Hon A G Hore-Ruthven
Gedaref 1898

Brigadier Gen G W St G Grogan, VC, CB, CMG, DSO*
1875-1962 EA 1902-07

World War 1- Western
Front 1918

Colonel H Lysons, VC, CB
1858-1907 EA 1884-5
Zulu War 1879

Major Gen F C Roberts, VC, DSO*, OBE, MC
1891-1982 EA 1919-20
World War 1- Western
Front 1918

Lt F H S Roberts, VC
1872-1899 EA 1898
Boer War 1899

Brigadier Gen C L Smith, VC, MC
1878-1927 EA 1905-15
Somaliland 1904

Major Gen Sir N M Smyth, VC, KCB
1868-1941 EA 1896-1900 & 1914-5
Omdurman 1898

Field Marshal Sir H E Wood, VC, GCB, GCMG
1838-1919 EA 1882-5 as Sirdar
Indian Mutiny 1858

Royal Navy / British Army

Private Thomas Byrne VC
1867-1944 21st Lancers
Omdurman 1898

Private Thomas Edwards VC
1863-1952 Royal Highlanders (Black Watch)
Tamai 1884

Brigadier Gen P A Kenna VC DSO
1862-1915 As Captain 21st Lancers
Omdurman 1898

Colonel Sir P S Marling VC CB
1861-1936 As Lieutenant KRRC Mounted Infantry
Tamai 1884

Lt Colonel (QM) W T Marshall VC
1854-1920 As QM Sergeant 19th Hussars
El Teb 1884

Captain The Hon R H L J de Montmorency VC
1867-1900 As Lieutenant 21st Lancers
Omdurman 1898

Gunner Albert Smith VC
1861-1932 Royal Artillery
Abu Klea 1885

Admiral of the Fleet Sir A K Wilson VC GCB OM GCVO
1842-1921. As Captain RN
El Teb 1884